Skip to content

Michael Rosenbaum goes back to college

June 7, 2009

060609_rosenbaum_lemon5

Actor Rosenbaum returns to WKU for presentation at 2009 Alumni College

Actor Michael Rosenbaum posed for pictures, signed autographs and mingled with fans Saturday afternoon.

But he wasn’t on the red carpet at a Hollywood premiere. He was on the Big Red carpet at his alma mater for a presentation to participants in WKU’s 2009 Alumni College.

“I came back because when I came in as a freshman, I had no idea what I wanted to do, but there was so much opportunity here,” said Rosenbaum, a 1995 WKU graduate who grew up in Newburgh, Ind.

As a student at WKU, Rosenbaum took classes in broadcasting, theater, opera, drama, television and radio. He acted in plays and worked as disc jockey for the campus radio station.

“I really think Western gave me the confidence to go out and do what I wanted,” Rosenbaum said. “I love this university because it helped me get to where I wanted to be.”

In his presentation to about 50 people at WKU’s Mass Media and Technology Hall Auditorium, Rosenbaum said he chose WKU because of its great theater program, its affordability and its intimate feel. “It felt like home so that was important to me,” he said.

“I came back to tell you that anything is possible. I’m a perfect example of why WKU works,” he said.

“Michael has been gracious about coming back and has been a joy to work with,” said Ginny Hensley, director of alumni programming for the WKU Alumni Association. “He’s made it big but when he comes back to WKU he’s appreciative of the start he received here.”

After graduating from WKU and moving to New York City, “I had the confidence to know I could do it,” Rosenbaum said.

While he may be best known for his role as Lex Luthor in TV’s “Smallville,” Rosenbaum has appeared in “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil,” “Sorority Boys,” “Poolhall Junkies,” “Urban Legend,” “Sweet November,” “Bringing Down the House” and more.

Read the rest HERE.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

