Skip to content

Smallville Season 9 Premiere Episode Savior- Spoiler Photos, Episode Description

September 4, 2009
by

PREVIEW Spoiler photos for the season premiere of Smallville!

901 Savior- Official Episode Description

BRIAN AUSTIN GREEN (“TERMINATOR: THE SARAH CONNOR CHRONICLES”) GUEST STARS AS JOHN CORBEN — Clark (Tom Welling) tells Jor-El he’s ready to start his training, but Jor-El sends him back to Metropolis to cut ties with Lois before he can begin. Chloe (Allison Mack) is shocked when Lois (Erica Durance) suddenly reappears after having been missing for weeks, but Lois has no recollection of vanishing into thin air with the Legion ring. While investigating a monorail crash, Lois meets John Corben (guest star Brian Austin Green), a new reporter at The Daily Planet, with a negative attitude toward the Red-Blue Blur. Chloe begs Clark to use the Legion ring to go back in time to save Jimmy, but he refuses, driving a wedge into their friendship. Meanwhile, Oliver (Justin Hartley) continues down a dark road, and Zod (Callum Blue) arrives at the Luthor mansion. Kevin Fair directed the episode written by Brian Peterson & Kelly Souders (#3X5251).

Source: CW

7 Comments leave one →
  1. zombimika8469 permalink
    September 28, 2009 2:44 pm

    Thank god for Smallville! Tom welling and the cast that has been chosen is what is Keeping SUPERMAN alive! If not for smallville I would DESPISE my child hood hero!

  2. tarheel56 permalink
    September 28, 2009 6:50 pm

    I have watched Smallville since day one and I have to say that this was by far the worst episode ever written and acted. The script was poorly written and scenes jumped around without ANY continuity at all. Oliver cannot be found by anyone yet Lois finds him. Then it jumps to something else totally irrelevant. Happens through the whole show. Seriously if I have to watch Lois go all ga-ga and googly eyed every time the blue-blur is mentioned, I think I will be sick. Is she reverting back to a love struck high school girl? The guy that played Zod overacted and was pathetic. And why do most of the Kryptonian men have english accents now?

    The first five or six years were very well done, even though they didn’t follow the comics story lines, because they put in some originality while keeping some of the basic concepts regarding Clark Kent Growing into Superman. They should have quit then as seasons seven and eight were so far off base with crappy writing and even worse acting. Season nine looks to be following right in line. Finally, Clark … sorry Kal-El wearing an overcoat with an S painted on his shirt and leaving his “mark” everywhere is also pathetic. Superman NEVER showboated like that. They need to let him wear the costume, assume the alter-ego and at least finish off this season with class.

  3. baudyhallee permalink
    September 29, 2009 4:40 am

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy the episode tarheel56, but I couldn’t disagree with you more. We are finally seeing Clark Kent farm boy alien become a super man. His story was all about leaving the farm and Smallville behind him and moving to Metropolis to serve mankind.

    The Smallville cast and crew are the hardest working in the industry and what they produced for this premiere was outstanding. I cannot sing their praises enough as evidenced by my review on this blog.

    Smallville the show puts a new flourish to the mythos, but it cannot deviate from the standard continuity. Lois Lane will go cuckoo for cocoa puffs for the S-man (the Blur) just as she has for Clark Kent in season 8. In all other incarnations of the story, Clark Kent has fallen in love with Lois Lane at first sight. So it is inevitable that when the producers and writers want/need to align with the mythos, they will show Clark Kent falling in love with Lois Lane. And a good thing too because they’ve been married for 13 years in the comics.

    After the Doomsday battle in the comics, Clark came back wearing a black suit. Since he has not developed ‘the tights’ yet on Smallville, this is the farmer gone city dweller version of that. It will evolve as the season goes along.

    I think the British accent thing comes from the Reeve Superman movie.

    Smallville was not conceived in a vacuum and it really puzzles me that some people think that Warner Brothers and DC are going to ditch an over 7 decade successful story which made them into the empires they are today.

  4. Audrey permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:16 pm

    Holli, thank you for the great review. I always love hearing your take on things!

    Tarheel, I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy the episode. I guess it just shows how different people can see the same thing and see it completely differently. I thought the premiere was one of the most solid, entertaining and interesting episodes of Smallville in years. I thought it was well-written, well directed and well acted. I thought it was original and creative yet it still gave a little “nod” to 70 years of Superman canon. (And come on…are you honestly trying to tell me that you legitmately thought this episode was so bad that it was one of the worst episodes in the entire 9 years? Come on now….I’m laughing at that because it’s so ridiculous. Because if you didn’t like the episode if you honestly thought this was so bad that it was the worst episode in 9 years I’d be THRILLED to put my lawyer debating skills to good use presenting evidence to the contrary. In fact, unforuntately I think I have “Thirst” and “Agless” laying around here on DVD. ….)

    Presenting evidence from Tarheel:

    “this was by gar the worst episode ever written and acted”—An episode can’t be “acted.” Actors can “act” in an episode. But the episode itself can’t actually perform the action. I thought all the actors did a superb job as usual. Welling continues to impress me with his incredible poise and grace as Clark Kent. His facial expressions are truly priceless. His eyes are so expressive and his physical presence onscreen continues to be jaw dropping. Erica Durance turned in another great performance as Lois. She managed to be heart breaking, snarky, romantic and sexy all in one episode. I’ve always been a fan of Lois Lane but this is the first version of the character where I actually want to be her friend. :) Even though Chloe got on my nerves a bit, I can’t deny that Allison Mack continues to turn in great performances. She’s a very talented woman and she sells everything she’s given even when it’s difficult. Callum Blue was chilling as Major Zod. Cassidy Freeman continues to impress the hell out of me as Tess. Justin Hartley didn’t have too much screentime but damn if he sold what he had. And Brian Austin Green was very interesting as John Corben. This cast works so hard to bring realism to circumstances that involve so much fantasy. And yet they pull it off and make me care about these characters. They make it real. But I’m sure that you probably are a professional actor yourself so you would know whether or not something was well acted. Where can I come see you perform?

    “scenes jumped around without ANY continuity at all. ”
    Again, I disagree. Yes, there was a lot going on in the episode as I would expect in a season premiere. However, each scene tied to the next. The opening scene establishes that Chloe has been looking for Lois and that Clark has been protecting the city, the next scene then SHOWS us Lois returning and Clark saving the train car. We see that Clark has been training in the fortress but it ties back to the last scene because he is thinking of saving Lois. We see that Chloe has been trying to get in touch with Clark and she eventually FINDS him on the roof of the Daily Planet. etc etc. I could go on and continue to explain why these episode showed plenty of continuity between the different threads but I think I’ve made my point.

    “Seriously if I have to watch Lois go all ga-ga and googly eyed every time the blue-blur is mentioned, I think I will be sick. Is she reverting back to a love struck high school girl?”

    I assume that since you watch Smallville that you’ve heard of the legend of Superman. But in case you have not, let me refresh your memory. Superman is a 70 year old franchise with a history on the radio, comic books, television series both animated and live action, books and films. The story has been told in a variety of different ways over the years but there are a few things that have remained a part of what I would call the sacred canon throughout every interpretation. Superman is an alien from Krypton sent to Earth by his father, Jor-El, before his home planet is destroyed. Superman has the abilities of a God but he was raised as a human by the Kents. Lois Lane is in love with Superman. Superman is in love with Lois Lane. If you don’t want to watch Lois Lane act in love with Superman, then I’d suggest finding a new superhero franchise to support because this isn’t the one for you. (I didn’t think she acted like a high schooler by the way. Personally, I don’t know many high schoolers who are that tough and independent or who could produce that kind of mature heat that was shown in that love scene at the end.)

    “The guy that played Zod overacted and was pathetic. And why do most of the Kryptonian men have english accents now?”

    I thought Callum Blue was fantastic. Zod is a very manic and intense character and he had to be played that way. The English accent was probably a nod to the way Terrence Stamp played Zod in Superman II, a flim that is considered a classic by a lot of people. You’ll have to take that one up with Richard Donner.

    “The first five or six years were very well done, even though they didn’t follow the comics story lines, because they put in some originality while keeping some of the basic concepts regarding Clark Kent Growing into Superman. They should have quit then as seasons seven and eight were so far off base with crappy writing and even worse acting.”

    They are STILL using their own original ideas while keeping basic concepts of the Superman story. In fact, they are doing it this season more than ever before. I thought there were good and bad things throughout the six seasons. Personally, I thought the 6th season started to derail with the Lexana arc and Clark becoming completely obsessed with Lana again. I didn’t care for Season 7 as a whole but I did love Kara and I thought that Michael Rosenbaum really brought his A game towards the end. I thought Season 8 had good and bad moments. The first half was fantastic and the second half had some stumbling blocks. But overall, I thought Season 8 was a major improvement over Season 7 and a big step in the right direction for Clark’s growth and maturity.

    Right now, Clark is taking that last step towards being Superman. He has to realize on his own that he can never be just human or just alien. He has to be a combination of both. I’m sure we are going to see him struggle a lot with this realization over the course of the season and I for one am really excited about it. One of the best things about “Savior” is that Clark finally seemed like a man! Yes, he still has some growing to do but he is getting there. He made a very tough choice when he told Chloe that he couldn’t turn back time to save Jimmy. But he did the right thing. He is learning from his mistakes. Clark needs to get class? Clark Kent is not perfect and he does have flaws but honestly one of the things the man has in spades is class. And if you can’t see that, then I sort of pity the types of men you spend your time with.

    Anyway, sorry you didn’t enjoy the episode. I apologize if I got a little argumentative with you but what can I say? I like a good debate. I thought Savior was fantastic and I’m looking forward to the rest of the season.

  5. Audrey permalink
    September 29, 2009 1:17 pm

    Sorry for my typos…..I’m a fast writer but I don’t always have time for proof reading!

  6. Dev permalink
    October 4, 2009 8:30 pm

    I want a good love story. Clark, embrace your human side. Express yourself to someone other than Chloe. Get carried away by someone else for a change. I’m tired of the same old same old. Tell Lois and break the monotony. We love you Clark, but we want to see your romantic side.

  7. lamon permalink
    October 6, 2009 9:32 pm

    Have to agree with Audree and baudyhallee, Season 9 is more than satisfying (not even close to some of the worst episodes). Can’t wait to see more.

    I have had to watch it online do to the fact that I have a social life… and the ridiculous friday night slot it has landed is the main cause. I know plenty of people who enjoyed Smallville season 9, shame they also couldn’t wait around to see it on CW on Fridays. Probably why ratings are so low (any other day of the week and I would def be watching it).

    Well, I will keep watching and def enjoying Smallville for as long as they keep producing them…

    Waiting with anticipation ; )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

